ZO > Study >

Study

Heidelberg University has a long tradition as one of the major centres of teaching on East Asia in Europe. Its Centre of East Asian Studies examines the historical and contemporary dimensions of Chinese, Japanese and Korean societies and cultures and maintains significant intellectual and institutional connections and staff and student exchanges with other important area studies centres in East Asia, Europe and the United States.

At Heidelberg University there is one three-year BA in East Asian Studies degree programme, which can be combined with a minor field in almost any other subject, that teaches the languages of East Asia and familiarizes the students with these countries from a regional perspective while exposing them to the relevant academic disciplines in the humanities and social sciences.Dsc 2716 Although most classes in the initial year are taught in German or in East Asian languages, there are enough regular advanced offerings in English to make the program attractive even to international exchange students who are not yet fluent in either one of these languages and serves to prepare Heidelberg degree students to participate in one of many exchanges with our partner universities in East Asia and Europe. The current areas of specialization within the East Asian Studies BA degree are Chinese Studies, East Asian Art History and Japanese Studies .

Heidelberg University offers several two-year taught MA degrees relevant to East Asia. MA in Chinese Studies, MA in Japanese StudiesMA in East Asian Art History, and an MA in Conference Interpretation (Japanese-German), which is probably the only MA with that specialization in the world. An international MA in Transcultural Studies taught in English, which includes an East Asian track prepared by the Cluster of Excellence "Asia and Europe", began in the autumn semester of 2011.

Heidelberg University has had an impressive record in training doctoral students in East Asian Studies over the last decades. Since the foundation of the Cluster of Excellence "Asia and Europe", which is funded by the German Research Foundation, the numbers of high quality international and German Ph.D. students has grown tremendously since they receive a full scholarship for their entire three year research period and can write their dissertations in either English or German. Financial support extends to research fieldwork in Asia and Europe.

Study Programmes

BA in East Asian Studies Three-year BA in East Asian Studies, which can be combined with a minor field in almost any other subject
MA in Chinese Studies Four semester postgradual degree programme in Chinese Studies
MA in Japanese Studies Four semester postgradual degree programme in Japanese Studies
MA in East Asian Art History Four semester postgradual degree programme in East Asian art History
MA in Conference Interpretation Unique postgradual degree programme for German/Japanese Conference Interpretation
MA in Transcultural Studies Two-year full-time programme offering an interdisciplinary and trans-regional focus
PHD Studies Overview about doctoral training at the Centre for East Asian Studies

 

Last edited by: SV
Latest Revision: 2016-02-17
zum Seitenanfang/up

ZO > Studium >

Studium

Die Heidelberger Ostasienwissenschaften widmen sich der Untersuchung ostasiatischer Gesellschaften in ihren historischen Entwicklungen, regionalen Zusammenhängen und gegenwärtigen Erscheinungsformen. Das Heidelberger Zentrum für Ostasienwissenschaften ist eines der bedeutendsten und internationalsten Lehr- und Forschungszentren seiner Art in Europa mit Schwerpunkt auf den kulturwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen. Es unterhält einen regen intellektuellen und institutionellen Austausch mit anderen wichtigen regionalwissenschaftlichen Forschungszentren in Ostasien, Europa und den Vereinigten Staaten.

Das dreijährige BA-Studium der Ostasienwissenschaften hat den Erwerb einer ostasiatischen Sprache, länder- und regionalspezifischer Kenntnisse sowie der Fähigkeit zur selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Bearbeitung relevanter Fragestellungen zum Ziel. Dsc 2716 In der interdisziplinären Vermittlung von Fachwissen und berufsfeldorientierten Fähigkeiten einschließlich interkultureller Kompetenz und des routinierten Umgangs mit den neuen Medien zielt der Bachelor-Studiengang auf eine praxisnahe Verbindung von sprachlicher mit fachlicher Kompetenz ab. Ein Studienaufenthalt im gewählten Sprachraum wird mit vielen Austauschmöglichkeiten mit unseren ostasiatischen Partneruniversitäten und Stipendien unterstützt. Im Rahmen des BA-Studiengangs können derzeit folgende Schwerpunkte gewählt werden: Japanologie, Kunstgeschichte Ostasiens und Sinologie.

Die zweijährigen MA-Studiengänge der Japanologie, Kunstgeschichte Ostasiens und Sinologie sowie der MA-Studiengang Dolmetschen (Japanisch-Deutsch) dienen der Vertiefung der jeweiligen sprachlichen und länderspezifischen Kenntnisse sowie der Vorbereitung zur Promotion in den jeweiligen Fächern. Bewerber für einen der obigen MA-Studiengänge sollten ostasiatische Sprachkenntnisse auf dem Niveau eines regulären BA-Studiengangs mit Schwerpunkt Ostasien vorweisen. Ein internationaler MA-Studiengang Transkulturelle Studien, bei dem es unter anderem auch einen Ausbildungsschwerpunkt Ostasien gibt, hat im Wintersemester 2011 begonnen. Ein Studien- oder Forschungsaufenthalt in der gewählten Forschungsregion wird mit Stipendien unterstützt und hilft bei der Durchführung einer entsprechenden MA-Abschlussarbeit in deutscher oder englischer Sprache.

Promotionen in deutscher oder englischer Sprache im Bereich des Zentrums für Ostasienwissenschaften, die idealerweise etwa drei Jahre dauern sollen, dienen der wissenschaftlichen Qualifizierung für eine Laufbahn in der Wissenschaft, der Öffentlichen Verwaltung und der Wirtschaft. Bewerber für eine Promotion sollten einen überdurchschnittlichen MA-Abschluss und ostasiatische Sprachkenntnisse auf dem Niveau eines regulären MA-Studiengangs mit Schwerpunkt Ostasien vorweisen. Ein Forschungsaufenthalt im gewählten Sprachraum wird erwartet und finanziell unterstützt.

Studiengänge

BA Ostasienwissenschaften Dreijähriges BA-Studium mit Schwerpunkt Japanologie, Kunstgeschichte Ostasiens oder Sinologie
MA Sinologie Viersemestriger Aufbaustudiengang mit den Schwerpunkten klassische oder moderne Sinologie
MA Japanologie Viersemestriger MA-Studiengang in Japanologie
MA Kunstgeschichte Ostasiens Viersemestriger MA-Studiengang in Kunstgeschichte Ostasiens
M.A. Konferenzdolmetschen Japanisch MA Konferenzdolmetschen mit Sprachwahl Japanisch
MA Transcultural Studies Zweijähriger MA-Studiengang mit Schwerpunkt auf transkulturellen Prozessen in Geschichte und Gegenwart
Promotion Überblick über Promotionsmöglichkeiten am Zentrum für Ostasienwissenschaften

 

Zuletzt bearbeitet von: SV
Letzte Änderung: 17.02.2016
zum Seitenanfang/up